Food Science and Nutrition: Level 3 Diploma (WJEC)

An understanding of food science and nutrition is relevant to many industries and job roles. Care providers and nutritionists in hospitals use this knowledge, as do sports coaches and fitness instructors. Hotels and restaurants, food manufacturers and government agencies also use this understanding to develop menus, food products and policies that support healthy eating initiatives. Many employment opportunities within the field of food science and nutrition are available to graduates.

Level 3 Food Science and Nutrition qualifications allow pupils to gain a wealth of knowledge about the food and nutrition industry. Pupils will have the opportunity to learn about the relationship between the human body and food as well as practical skills for cooking and preparing food. Pupils will be able to consider employment in a range of different industries including the food and drink sectors of hospitality, catering, food production and food retail.

The Food Science and Nutrition Diploma is the equivalent of two A Levels, and this course complements the work undertaken in many of the A Level subjects offered.

The WJEC Level 3 Food Science and Nutrition course can be successfully matched with a range of A-level subjects (or equivalent), supporting progress on to higher education degree courses, such as:

  • BSc Food and Nutrition
  • BSc Human Nutrition
  • BSc (Hons) Public Health Nutrition
  • BSc (Hons) Food Science and Technology

This new specification is excellent preparation for pupils wishing to pursue careers in nutrition, food science, sports science, food technology and consumer protection.

The following units are internally assessed:

  • Unit 1: Meeting Nutritional Needs of Specific Groups. This unit is also externally assessed.
  • Unit 3: Experimenting to Solve Food Production Problems
  • Unit 4: Current issues in Food Science and Nutrition

The following units are externally assessed:

  • Unit 1: Meeting Nutritional Needs of Specific Groups. Details of the external assessment are as follows:
    • 90 minute examination; plus 15 minutes reading time
  • Unit 2 Ensuring Food is Safe to Eat is externally assessed. Details of the external assessment are as follows:
    • An assignment will be produced each academic year
    • It is an eight hour timed, supervised assessment

The final Diploma grading is reported on a four-point scale:

  • Distinction* (140 UCAS)
  • Distinction (120 UCAS)
  • Merit (80 UCAS)
  • Pass (40 UCAS)

Minimum Entry Requirements: 5 GCSEs at grade 4 or above, including 4 in GCSE Food and Nutrition or equivalent BTEC Level 2 Qualification

Updated January 2019