• sat on fence.jpg
  • media_20classroom.jpg
  • Horse Jumping.jpg
  • Jumpers_20Avec_20Brollies_20web.jpg
  • RFL16.jpg
  • King-Lear.jpg
  • girls rugby.jpg
  • swimming.jpg
  • Hockey.jpg
  • RTTFP.jpg
  • hausersign.jpg
  • RWWeb.jpg
  • Wales.jpg
  • cricket.jpg
  • sailing.jpg
  • Dovecot.jpg
  • lower school group.jpg
  • Prom_202014.jpg
  • Rugby 35.jpg

Duke of Edinburgh awards

17 March 2017: Sexey’s students celebrated their achievements in the Duke of Edinburgh Award scheme at an awards ceremony held at the Octagon Yeovil this week. The Bronze, Silver and Gold awards were presented by ocean rower James Ketchell to students across the South West, including 38 from Sexey’s School.

Among the list were students Nellie Hammond and Georgie Chapman, who were among very few students nationally to finish their Gold Duke of Edinburgh awards before entering Year 13 (last year). They were also the first students to undertake their seven day practical expedition abroad in Tuscany, with three Year 13 students from other schools.

Commenting on their achievement, Nellie Hammond said, “I just thought – why not go for it? I had read about the possibility of doing the Gold expeditions abroad and with some research, found a group that Georgie and I could join. We’re so pleased to have finished before Year 13, and be able to focus on our A Levels knowing that we’ve already completed our Gold.”

Mrs Jenny Wilkinson, Duke of Edinburgh Co-ordinator and English teacher at Sexey’s, added, “I’m so proud of Nellie and Georgie for being so proactive about finishing their Duke of Edinburgh Gold Awards. I’m sure they’ve paved the way for future students to consider alternatives abroad for their expeditions and they have been a delight to co-ordinate during the whole of their Duke of Edinburgh programme. My congratulations also go to all of our students that have worked so hard for their awards, with a special mention to Francesca Llewellin, who also got her Gold.”

Sexey’s School is one of the largest providers of the Duke of Edinburgh Award scheme in the South West. Students from Year 10 onwards are given the opportunity to participate in the scheme, which is widely recognised by colleges, universities and employers and has been popular with Sexey’s students for many years. Participants must pursue a skill, some form of physical activity and voluntary service for a period of several months depending on the level of award attempted. They must also complete an expedition which requires a trek of several days carrying all food and camping equipment.

Success in the award brings many challenges but also many rewards for participants in exchange for commitment, hard work and determination.

The full list of Sexey’s students collecting awards in the latest ceremony is as follows: DUke of Edinburgh awards

Florence Allan
Bridgette Baker
Nathaniel Bell
Harry Bewley
Caroline De La Harpe
Lucia Elliott
Martha Everest
Elise Fauvel
Kevin Jennett
Megan King
Charles Llewellin
Amber McCormick
Charles McNairn
Jonah Nicolson
Emily Russ
Freddie Seymour
Maddie Spicer-Ralfe
Phoebe Stanton
Tommy Stewart

Taya Atkinson
Pippa Belsten
Josiah Berkeley
Chloe Brady
Caitlin Carnegie
Daniel Coombes
Edward Deacon
Ella Dibble
Flynn Haddigan
Asher Hutchinson
Jacob Lee
Pearl Lee
Katie Leeming
Ellie Parnell
Abigail Parr
Oliver Perkins

Georgina Chapman
Eleanor Hammond
Francesca Llewellin


Find us


Contact Us

logo lpp

SBF logo web

BSA logo red

logo church

logo healthy